My Son in the ICU: MIracle Man

 September 2013….I am so touched by Life. The good, the bad, the in-between. I’m touched. And Life brings me to tears often.
My beautiful daughter will say to me, “You are crying, AGAIN?”, because it might be the littlest thing….

So to have an extraordinary experience such as one’s child being in extreme suffering and inexplicable pain and being told he is dying, come to an already cry-ie, emotional, touchy-feely person mom…..where does one go from there?  I found out.

Silence.

That’s what’s next. Silence. enjoy_the_silence

Because there is nothing left. It is the point of realizing one has No Control, No Power, No Influence, No Nothing. A small demonic fungus, the size of a cell…..a cell. Was bigger than Mom. Was bigger than Dad. Was bigger than the doctors. Was bigger than Life.

And that’s hard to fathom. It’s hard to take. But there is No Other Choice. This micro-something has more power over your child than You. You who birthed and invested every emotion and moment and time and energy into this Other Human Being Who Is YOUR CHILD, a piece of you, came OUT of you….then THIS micro-something fungus is determining your child’s destiny and you can’t do.one.thing.to.stop. it. and it is causing him pain unending. And, apparently, neither can the medical community stop it.. Even they have called wolf.

All I could do is Pray. To the one thing bigger than me. Bigger than the demons. Bigger than the micro-organisms.
God.
He’s all I had left.
Please, please, please, God. Even though there are 7 BILLION people in the world. Save MY son. 7,000,000,000,000. Save MINE.
I thought about Africa, I’ve been to Haiti, I thought about the other precious little ones I peeked in at in the PICU who were our neighbors now, I’ve seen pictures of orphans in tons of countries…..Lots and lots and lots and lots of Mothers lose their sons Every Day. But save Mine.
Because why? I could give the same list of convincing, heartfelt reasons that any other mother could…But save HIM. Because I Love You, God, save My Son??
I prayed with my whole self. Offering my whole self, “Take me instead” …to save him. I begged. It was all the hope I had left.

“Whoever does not love, does not know God, because God is Love“—John 4:8

Love.
He showed up. In a big way.

I have no doubt, in direct result to mine and many others prayer….no doubt. Not that we are special in the 7 billion people in the world, because many, I’m sure, share the same story of answer to prayer, but I’ll take it.

My son stopped hurting. He. Stopped. Hurting. I cannot express in words what this is. There are no words. He stopped hurting. If you knew the agony, the pain that I do not have words for that we saw him experience…the fact that it PAUSED.

That, in itself, was a miracle. Thanks Be.

He made a Turn that last week of September. Mentally and physically, Cory started to come back to us….The doctors were Baffled!

Here are my texts to a friend in September :

The doctors said….”never been reversed” ,”that would be crazy” ,”would be a miracle” ,”never known anyone to survive” ,”he has anywhere from 2 days to 2 weeks”….well, God has other plans :)))))
They are now saying, “never been seen” , “miracle”  and “no record of this rally ever occuring”….
Hi friends…Though Cory is still “very sick”, Prognosis has changed! They are talking about moving him out of ICU this week. Miracle Man. Thanks so much for continued love, prayers, and support.

We called him Miracle Man.

Leave a Reply

