My son in the ICU: And then the saints came marching in.

September,2013…

So, when the dust settled from the rolling, and saving, and pushing and inserting….and the 15 medical miracle workers dwindled down to 2….and they closed the big glass doors to his room, I praised God in the hallway literally and figuratively.

This is not Cory, but this is exactly how he looked. Profoundly, beautifully Asleep, Peaceful, and Alive.
I pulled up a chair next to his bedside and made myself comfortable. I held his hand and visually took him in, just like when he was a baby.
I wanted to crawl in next to him…like the many times I did on the Bone Marrow Transplant floor or the Oncology Unit…to watch a movie, to play yet another game of Quirkle, to hold him in those so,so few moments he cried, or for him to show me something—some song, some game, or teach me something I was technologically inept at, on his computer.
But he was too fragile… too covered with lines and tubes and tape. So I just sat and praised and thanked God that in THIS moment that He. Was. Alive.

Then the Saints came in. Cory’s PICU nurses for the shift. They showed up every day ready to advocate and care for the physical well being of their patient, and over the course of our 2 month pitstop in the ICU,we fell in love with them.
Then the Troops, Dave and Mom, came in that night. Their eyes big and scared and worried….I finally cried, sobbed really. Longest, hardest night of my life just happened…..or so I thought.
Then more troops— Charlie arrived as soon as he could….I proceeded to spend more time with my ex-husband in the next two weeks than we probably spent together in the 5 years we were married. And it was fine.
See… The ICU has a way of stripping away anything that doesnt really matter in the grand scheme of things. Only one thing mattered to anyone in that room. Loving Cory. Caring for Cory. Helping Cory.
Period. We were his family.

The Good News:
1.He was out of septic shock.
2.They saved him.

To Do List:
1. Get the results from testing to find out what the Monster Bacteria that did this to my son is.
2. Kill it.
3. Heal up those organs.
4. Get off the ventilator.
5. Get out of ICU back onto the Bone Marrow Transplant floor
6 Take Cory and his fully grafted, fully functional germ-fighting bone marrow HOME.

Please, Dear God, please.

Leave a Reply

